Is it A Good idea to take a job offer fresh out of college even though it may not be something I want to do long term?

Is it A Good idea to take a job offer fresh out of college even though it may not be something I want to do long term?

So I'm getting good vibes from this company I'm interviewing with, they like me and while I already had a face to face interview in they NY office they also want a skype chat this week for their NY office but a different department. Now it's pretty "basic" engineering so-to-speak, HVAC, electrical, mechanical, fire protection, plumbing, a little bit in energy and renewables.

So I'm going to skype with the head of the fire protection department this week, and although it's not my dream job, far from it, it's the best lead I have right now.

Would it be a good idea to accept the job offer (if I get it) and plan for a better job later on? I'm a senior Mechanical Engineering major graduating this June. My dream job would be at a ship yard, aerospace, or car manufacture, but I currently don't have the GPA, connections, or skills for that type of position fresh out of college.

And grad school is still a possibility so I really have way too many options, so much so it's almost overwhelming for me trying to decide what I want to do with my life.

Submitted May 16, 2017 at 08:44PM by gandalfv31415
via reddit http://ift.tt/2roIoka

Is it A Good idea to take a job offer fresh out of college even though it may not be something I want to do long term?

Leave a Reply

