Applying to companies without advertised Openings? looking for advice/feedback

Applying to companies without advertised Openings? looking for advice/feedback

Quick background; I've been out of school working as an automation engineer for the past 3 years, my degree is in electrical engineering. I'm looking to relocate to my relatively small hometown (80k people). Odd situation in that my dad + two older siblings are all electrical engineers so I've got a lot of vocal feedback from my immediate family.

How do you guys recommend opening a conversation with a company about possible employment when they're not actively seeking someone? My family believes that I'm severely limiting myself if I'm only talking to companies with advertised open positions (of which there are not very many in a town of 80k), but in my first job hunt, I had absolutely no luck when 'cold calling' companies. Just looking for feedback/advice/how this would work at your place of employment, and how to get the best possible results. Thanks for any help, and please let me know if there's a more appropriate subreddit to post this in.

Submitted May 18, 2017 at 05:45PM by irregularcontributor
via reddit http://ift.tt/2qx4aE3

Applying to companies without advertised Openings? looking for advice/feedback

Leave a Reply

