Best. Damn. Engineering. Manual. Ever. . . . and what it taught me about vacations.

Best. Damn. Engineering. Manual. Ever. . . . and what it taught me about vacations.

I was in a building last month and the building engineer had created his own engineering manuals for all of his building systems. The manuals were complete with pictures, arrows to specific things, schematics, and numbered actions to perform in various situations. However, here's the thing, he is the only guy that touches any of it and has been there for 20+ years.

I asked him about it and he told me it is so that when he goes on vacation, someone else can easily take over for him and he has no worries about things going wrong or getting called. He really taught me a lesson that day since I've always been someone who thinks the office needs me specifically to handle everything and it makes taking vacation and truly relaxing pretty tough.

So take the lesson from Joe and detail some of the work you do or train someone in the office on the more common tasks you perform. Don't worry about that person replacing you; if you are so easily replaced, then your time there was likely numbered.

I wrote out my thoughts a bit longer in my LinkedIn article and also have a picture of one of his manuals. Have a look, I'm still in awe of what this guy put together: http://ift.tt/2qvTmWJ

Submitted May 18, 2017 at 10:52AM by solrose
via reddit http://ift.tt/2q0E6gX

Best. Damn. Engineering. Manual. Ever. . . . and what it taught me about vacations.

Leave a Reply

