Going into Civil Engineering with bad background in math?

Going into Civil Engineering with bad background in math?

So I am currently a senior in high school. I have been admitted into Engineering for Civil Engineering this Fall, but I am having a lot of doubts and worries, mostly with math.

I have had pretty awful math teachers through my entire high school career, and I have not took Pre-Calc or Calculus. I took my math placement test, and did not have the scores to take Calculus 1 freshman year (Civil Engineering requires Calc. 1-3). I was put into a class below Calculus 1 (basically a Pre-Calc class) and I am now having second thoughts about pursuing CE.

Is it okay to go into Engineering in college and take foundation level math classes before jumping into Calculus 1? I am pretty good at math, I just need to take some foundation math classes before jumping straight into Calculus. Is it normal for Engineering students to do this? Or is it the norm for first year Engineering students to go straight into Calculus? I am just scared/embarrassed that I'll be too far behind in math, and perhaps even fail. Any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Submitted May 19, 2017 at 05:33PM by SaucyMustard
via reddit http://ift.tt/2rAudbX

Going into Civil Engineering with bad background in math?

Leave a Reply

