Question about natural convection – heat transfer analysis

Question about natural convection – heat transfer analysis

Hi all, I'll preface this by saying that I only have a basic background in thermodynamics. So detailed sources/background info for answers would be greatly appreciated.

I'm looking into how long a mechanical component takes to cool from a certain production temperature. I've modeled the core of the component and have connected it to convection boundaries ( I was given data for convection coefficients beforehand). My question is this : since the core is in contact with the outside air, should I include a small boundary layer of air between the component model and the convection boundary ? If yes, how thick should this layer be ?

Right now I've just put the convection boundary at the surface where the component is in contact with air. The air itself is not moving (no forced convection).

Thanks in advance !

Submitted May 21, 2017 at 11:08PM by robertcoelho123
via reddit http://ift.tt/2qMNO8I

Question about natural convection – heat transfer analysis

Leave a Reply

