Junior (soon to be senior) interested in EE

Junior (soon to be senior) interested in EE

Hey all. I'm at the end of my junior year and starting to finalize my college search. Right now I'm pretty interested in pursuing a career in electrical engineering, because I think it would be challenging and offer lots of opportunities to do/make new things. I just have a couple of questions for y'all who are obviously far more experienced/knowledgeable than me.

To give you guys a general idea about me I'm 17, and a pretty good student. 3.85 GPA (out of 4, school doesn't weight), 35 ACT, and taken/going to take all AP's my school offers (Chem, Bio, Physics, Calc, Spanish, History, English). I'm a pretty big nerd, however I have tons of friends and play Varsity sports, so I'd like to be able to attend a school where I can study difficult material but also be able to unwind with friends that are less on the nerdy side as well.

I'm currently looking at UT Austin, U of Toronto, Georgia Tech, and U of Washington, leaning towards Washington just because I love Seattle. I'm from St. Louis and would like to go to school outside the Midwest in big urban city.

Are the schools I'm looking at good for EE? Any other recommendations? Also, how's the job market? Any other tips you have for someone entering or thinking about entering the field? I'm not interested in the money aspect, but I would like to have a job that's both challenging and rewarding. If I wanted to make money I would just go into business.

Thanks for taking the time to read/reply, hope I can get at least one reply :).

P.S. I'm senior class president and have a good amount of extra curriculars, but am wondering if there's anything else I should get a head start on in high school

P.P.S. Sorry if this sounds like I'm bragging about how smart I am, not trying to be /r/iamversmart but I just wanted to give a general idea of the type of person/student I am if I'm looking for recommendations!

Submitted May 25, 2017 at 07:04PM by Alex1Trebek
via reddit http://ift.tt/2r1Z3KQ

Junior (soon to be senior) interested in EE

Leave a Reply

