Mechanical Help with robotic arm

Mechanical Help with robotic arm

Hello i am sorry if I am posting in the wrong section but I could use some help about designing the mechanical parts of a robotic arm. What kind of motors do I need? (Steppers or Servos) My design is pretty simple but I think heavy for low cost motors. The design goes like this -Base with rotating motor (probably a stepper) -On top of the rotating base motor I will have 2 motors that will lift the whole arm pieces mounted horizontally (90 degrees) – Then 2 arm pieces (20 cm each and about 200 grams each) and the corresponding motors -The last arm piece will be connected with 2 motors (for vertical and rotational movement) -And finally a prosthetic arm like hand (or claw) will be mounted and controlled via strings (or by another motor (so 3 motors would be mounted on the last joint)) and it should measure about 10 cm long

So the thing I need to know is first for what kind of motor should I go and second should I make the design more lightweight or could I use a set of motors for each joint? Sorry for my poor English and explanation of the joints. If you need more info I will be more than happy to provide it. Thank you in advance for your time and help.

Submitted May 28, 2017 at 09:18AM by jackaros
via reddit http://ift.tt/2saPrga

Mechanical Help with robotic arm

Leave a Reply

