Seeking help in understanding one thing about plastic injection casting/molding

Seeking help in understanding one thing about plastic injection casting/molding

I'm a sculptor and I'll be designing plastic miniatures (like those for board games). I can't understand one thing about plastic miniatures production: how complex, "overlapping" shapes can be ejected from steel mold? This image illustrates what I'm talking about: http://ift.tt/2s8AQCv Here you can see a lot of complex, overlapping shapes (overlapping on "z-axis", so to say): http://ift.tt/2ryOZvR

As this video shows, plastic shapes for injection casting have to be… I don't know proper english word – "straight"? "Non-overlapping"? There are a lot of videos about spin casting miniatures in rubber molds, which are elastic, so it's understandable how even very complex shapes are ejected (you just bend the silicon mold), but I can't understand how such shapes can be ejected from steel molds. And there are sometimes EXTREMELY complex shapes, like these: http://ift.tt/2s8nbeM

Understanding this is quite crucial for me, because currently I don't really know what shapes I can or can't sculpt. I need to design miniatures in a most financially efficient way (I assume that less complex shapes = less parts for a single miniature = less molds to pay for). I don't know if (and how much) it's miniature size affecting production price or it's mostly shape complexity.

Submitted May 29, 2017 at 07:50PM by ned_poreyra
via reddit http://ift.tt/2r61Bct

Seeking help in understanding one thing about plastic injection casting/molding

Leave a Reply

