[mechanical] Two long rollers squeezing a plate project

[mechanical] Two long rollers squeezing a plate project

I've recently begun working on this project, and this puzzles me. It's been a little while since I graduated, so maybe I'm just rusty, but if someone could help point me in the right direction I'd be grateful.

I've been trying to figure out the stress and pressure distribution on a plate with one roller on top, and parallel to that two rollers next to each other on the bottom. Like so.! (Please imagine things are logically uniform and parallel and such, don't have much to work with right now.) In the image the direction of travel of plate is into and out of the screen, and the rollers are the dark red rectangles. The black lines/rectangles are supports.

Now, near as I can imagine, as the plate is rigid, if it is of a sufficient width and the gap between the two rollers is narrow enough, I could effectually treat it as one big roller on the bottom. However, I believe that the gap size is going to be significant, as it needs to be wide enough to fit a support between the two bottom rollers.

Now, for calculation across the gap I imagine it would be a simple distributed load in a line to find deflection, then I could just find a minimum plate thickness to minimize my deflection for the material given. (I know my gap width, and my material widths already, but I'm working this out conceptually right now.)

My worry is then that the pressure is not going to be applied to the section with the gap properly. I'm thinking that, as I mentioned, if the plate is thick enough compared to the gap this might be negligible, as the upward force will transfer across the entire plate. On the other hand, this doesn't negate the fact that there's still downforce applied directly to an area of the plate unsupported by the roller.

I'm not entirely sure what my question is here, but am I thinking along the right lines for this? Is there anything I should consider that I haven't?

There are a few other alternative designs I'm also working on, but this is the one that has most puzzled me, and I'd appreciate any advice or feedback.

Submitted May 31, 2017 at 02:08AM by Jormungandragon
via reddit http://ift.tt/2rE0W3g

[mechanical] Two long rollers squeezing a plate project

Leave a Reply

