Need help with a mechanism

Need help with a mechanism

Hello. I need help with the design of a mechanism for a furniture piece that I am making. Basically I want to attach a 48 dia mirror to an arm and have that mirror move through an arc. What I need help with is how to make the mirror stay in place. Ideally a user will just move the mirror without using any stop mechanism let go and the mirror will stay put. I was thinking of using a counterweight but have no idea for the thing that will hold it's position. Is there a friction locking mechanism or something similar. Also, if this helps, I can make pretty much anything as I have access to a wood and metal shop it's just that my engineering skills are lacking. Thank you.

Submitted June 01, 2017 at 02:02AM by plutoniumsalmon
via reddit http://ift.tt/2sqb2RE

Need help with a mechanism

Leave a Reply

