At what point should I start worrying about job security?

At what point should I start worrying about job security?

Situation is this. I've been with my company for almost 2 years now. 1.5 years in a non-engineering role after getting my BS in mechanical engineering. In February I transitioned into my current role as a process engineer. In mid-April, the business (including my plant) started having great troubles (waste up, off-quality up, downtime up, productivity down, etc.).

I'm working as hard as I can to get a detailed understanding of the process. I can do most of the operators' jobs now at a reasonable level. I've put together several capital projects at the request of plant management. But it's the daily action items I'm really struggling with – When my understanding of the process is truly only in its infancy, I struggle to really drive action items towards improving the above list, rather than just piggy-backing off of what the managers are doing in their attempts to improve.

So my question is literally the title – at what point should I start worrying about job security? Especially in the wake of discussions where the phrase "if y'all can't get your arms around this [directed at management], you need to get your resumes polished up" is used. Bonus question: How can I avoid feeling like I have caused this, especially since the start of the downward spiral happened very closely to when I joined?

Submitted June 08, 2017 at 08:25PM by Willacart
via reddit http://ift.tt/2r1aCkF

At what point should I start worrying about job security?

Leave a Reply

