Instrument Engineers in Refineries – What is your job like?

Instrument Engineers in Refineries – What is your job like?

Are there any Instrument Engineers working at an oil refinery who can answer a few basic questions about the job and industry as a whole? (See below)

I thank anyone in advance as it has been difficult to find an informative source on this topic.

1.) What are your typical day-to-day job tasks? Is it dirty work or are you in an office environment for the majority of the time? Do you work mostly with PLCs and controls engineering? 2.) How demanding is the job? Are you on call 24/7? Do you work long hours and/or weekends? Is the job physically or mentally exhausting? 3.) How is job security in a refinery with fluctuating oil prices?

In summary: What would you say are the main pros and cons of the job?

Personal note: I finished grad school with my MSc in EE about a year ago. I've been working in power at a utility for 1.5 years, but have become extremely uninterested with my job and the field as a whole. I'm now considering Instrument Engineer jobs at some local oil refineries (SE Texas). However with zero experience I'm not sure how much of a chance I have at getting in. My grad and undergrad GPAs are 3.76 and 3.52. I also have 3 years internship experience in automotive manufacturing for whatever it's worth. But first thing is first – figuring out if it's something I could see myself doing.

Thank you for any feedback!

Submitted June 09, 2017 at 08:01AM by AndAvForfedre
via reddit http://ift.tt/2s4niL1

Instrument Engineers in Refineries – What is your job like?

Leave a Reply

