New here, I’m a rising sophomore business student think about switching to engineering. Any advice would be much appreciated!

New here, I’m a rising sophomore business student think about switching to engineering. Any advice would be much appreciated!

So I've long stressed about finding out what I want do with my life. I've always admired big thinkers and change makers in society like Tesla, the Wright Brothers, Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, Mark Zuckerberg. I'm interested in solving a problem and building a business off that. The college I got into has a decently well known business school and I got into the international business program which is one of the best in the country. It's not particularly well known for engineering, but I've come to realize that engineering would be really useful with my interest in entrepreneurship. For example, I've got ideas about a wallet tracker and drone service business among others, but don't know how I could start a high tech business without above average technical knowledge.

I've always been a pretty strong student and have yet to really feel challenged by any honors, AP, or college level course. I know engineering is more difficult course load and to get a degree in it I'd have to essentially start over (graduate in 5 years instead of 4). In not sure if I'll like the courses or not; I've gotten an A in most math classes I've taken including Business Calc (didn't mind them but didn't particularly enjoy the classes) and I liked physics and chemistry in high school. Should I switch majors? If so, how do I decide between the different fields? I'm thinking right now between electrical and mechanical, but it's impossible to tell from the outside looking in which one I'd like better (though electrical would align more with some of the ideas I've had I think). How did those of you in engineering decide? My school makes you pick a major and doesn't do much in terms of exposing you to the different branches. How can I combine my interest in both engineering and business? How do I find the right field of engineering for me? What are the pros and cons of the different branches (mainly mechanical, electrical, computer, aerospace, biomedical)? Do I need to love math to enjoy engineering?

TL;DR Business student who has long thought about studying engineering to develop the skills to make my own innovation, should I switch majors? If so, how do I decide which area of study?

Submitted June 11, 2017 at 06:28PM by johnmwager
via reddit http://ift.tt/2scSjMT

New here, I’m a rising sophomore business student think about switching to engineering. Any advice would be much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

