How to determine matching range of an impedance matching network based on Smith chart

How to determine matching range of an impedance matching network based on Smith chart

Hi, all.

I'm currently trying to determine the matching range of a matching network I have. The network goes between an RF generator and a plasma chamber, and the generator is only able to handle a certain amount of reflected power. In order to be able to up the forward power for plasma ignition, we need to match the load to the 50 Ohm impedance of the generator, leading to a zero-reflected-power condition.

In order to determine whether the chamber impedance is in the matching range of the match, I'd need to know the match's electrical properties. However, all I have for the match is a description of the topology and a Smith chart which shows the match impedance range. Because the match is an L topology, as far as I can tell, I can't just move along the Smith chart, as the load is not the only current path from the match to ground (there is a parallel path to ground through a capacitor bank within the load).

Can anyone offer advice on how to determine range of impedance values of a load which I can connect to an L match whose electrical characteristics match this Smith chart in order to produce a total 50 Ohm impedance?

Yes, I have already talked to the vendor, who sent me the Smith chart above as an answer to this question. I have no experience with Smith charts, as the electrical engineering involved in setting this up is a long way from my area of expertise.

Submitted June 15, 2017 at 07:23PM by HoopyFreud
via reddit http://ift.tt/2sypAD8

How to determine matching range of an impedance matching network based on Smith chart

Leave a Reply

