Is an engineering job as brutal as engineering school?

Is an engineering job as brutal as engineering school?

I'm currently in my 3rd year at a state school for mechanical engineering. Lately, I have found myself being frustrated fairly often. I constantly stress about "not making it" when my GPA is sitting at a 3.7 in the honors program. My question is, is the actual career as constantly stressful as school is? Admittedly, a lot of my stress comes from my procrastination and poor study habits, however, these seem to be improving and I have a goal to discipline myself. I enjoy the engineering concepts and really am interested in the applications however the meticulous calculations and hours of hw are grinding on my perseverance. Is the career the same kind of stress and monotonous grind? I know a lot of my friends from school have the same fear. What I'm saying is I'm beginning to question my life choices. "Do I really want this for my whole life?" "What if I get out and don't enjoy it?" Are some questions I find myself thinking about a lot. Any insight from those of you that are in the field or have been at some point will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Submitted June 20, 2017 at 03:42PM by Dormnorm
via reddit http://ift.tt/2sQdJQR

Is an engineering job as brutal as engineering school?

Leave a Reply

