Help me understand Cooling Numbers Please

Help me understand Cooling Numbers Please

Background: I was an electrical engineer for a few years and currently work in software. So, I have some understanding of systems in a general way, however I did minimal with them theoretically or professionally. I do enjoy actually seeing numbers and data if it helps explain though 🙂

I am trying to understand how BTU/Watts relates to cooling of area. Now, I know that insulation, area size, temperature differences (creating 5F difference versus a 50F difference), and other factors also matter so this may be too general of a question.

1) A general window A/C Unit which outputs 5,000 BTU
2) http://ift.tt/2s1qlor is industrial grade Peltier (I think) which has similar cooling capacity at just over 4,300 BTU.
3) http://ift.tt/2sMcT4H Claims to have 72 Watts of cooling (which seems unrealistic since that would mean 0 watts for fans and 0 loss) and 72 watts of cooling = 245 BTU

The 5,000 BTU window unit box says good for rooms up to 13'X20' (not sure what height is assumed). The industrial heat exchanger I think I saw was listed for 8'X6'X3', but did not save the page and it is a totally different comparison for room someone lives in versus cabinet full of electric devices running…

Actual question time

Anyway, so what I am trying to figure out is: how is it determined what area a unit can cool? The small peltier listed on amazon will not work very well for a bedroom someone sleeps in, however if you get 5 of those running… Maybe okay? Added onto that, A/C units with compressors are not meant to run constantly, they are meant to turn on/off/on/off whereas a peltier (I believe) has no issue running constantly.

[EDIT]
I used the "Mechanical" flair since that seemed to be the most accurate option.

Submitted June 23, 2017 at 10:38PM by cn1ght
via reddit http://ift.tt/2s1gPBn

Help me understand Cooling Numbers Please

Leave a Reply

