Any advice for an aspiring Aerospace Engineer?

Any advice for an aspiring Aerospace Engineer?

My current plan is to go into aerospace engineering, with hopes of either working with propulsion or aerodynamics for either SpaceX, Boeing, NASA, Tesla, or even an F1 team (I can dream).

My questions for you Aerospace engineers are:

  • What does your average workweek look like?

  • What is your average workload?

  • What is the work environment like? Would you recommend a big company or a small one?

  • Why did you choose this profession? Was it worth it?

  • If you had to do it again, what would you do differently?

  • Are there any companies you recommend or would avoid?

Quite frankly, I'm terrified of actually looking for a career in this field. I'm afraid of finding that I will be bogged down with delays and terrible management to the point where I dread work. Or I find a place where people are happy to be there but the workload gives me 6 day weeks with 12 hour days.

Honestly I just want to be happy with whatever I choose. And I'm not confident I'll choose correctly. I want to be treated well by my employer and not be so overworked I can't have a life out of the office. I know thats asking for alot, and I have no idea where to start.

Thanks for the help guys. Really any advice you may have will help. No matter how small. I'm just tired of giving myself anxiety attacks over it.

Submitted June 24, 2017 at 07:47PM by Joman101_2
via reddit http://ift.tt/2tHD6l9

Any advice for an aspiring Aerospace Engineer?

Leave a Reply

