How to use a laser distance meter (lDM) to measure the length of a blade inside a mixing vessel

How to use a laser distance meter (lDM) to measure the length of a blade inside a mixing vessel

Hello,

I'm back with another simple question so that I don't look like a moron to my boss. He handed me a Suaoki S9 laser distance meter with a cap of 100 meters. He told me to learn how it works so that I can show him how to figure something out.

We are trying to measure the length of a blade that is going to be inside of a very large (5000 gallon) mixing tank. So I am trying to find the distance between 2 points that I can not stand next to. This would be easier to do if i could find the angle that I am pointing the laser meter at each time I use it, then I would have 2 lengths of a triangle and the angle between them and it would be just trig.

If this is something that you've had to do at your work or something you might have a suggestion for I welcome any input. Thanks again r/engineering xoxo

Submitted July 07, 2017 at 01:31PM by ChetManley5007
via reddit http://ift.tt/2sPasla

How to use a laser distance meter (lDM) to measure the length of a blade inside a mixing vessel

Leave a Reply

