Recently handed a ticking time bomb that uses Modbus and I need a little help

Recently handed a ticking time bomb that uses Modbus and I need a little help

Recently my boss handed me a system that controls 3 autoclaves, 2 low pressure and 1 high pressure. Currently the system is using an APACS System installed back in the 1999/2000 time frame.

Background: The system has 2 computers running an HMI, 1 engineering station and 1 operator station. The engineering station is running windows 2000 and the operator station is running windows xp. both of these computers are on the modulenet by use of a pci card installed on both computers. Moore 16413-1-3. Last night we had one of these PCI cards die and now we are looking to upgrade or replace the card.

I have a few issues/concerns and no resources at work to utilize.

Replacing the card:

  • Is there some sort of gateway that can be purchased that will switch this "HD15" connector over to something that I can use ethernet with?

  • Does it matter if I'm using Modbus RTU, Modbus ASCII, or Modbus TCP/IP and if so, how do I figure that out.

Replacing the computers:

  • If I wanted the ability to run at least windows 7 would upgrading the software from 4mation 4.50 -> 4.56 be enough or do i need to add additional modules.

  • Assuming the Vision software is obsolete, could I switch over to virtually any HMI software?

Submitted July 08, 2017 at 02:23PM by relbeek
via reddit http://ift.tt/2sBymN1

Recently handed a ticking time bomb that uses Modbus and I need a little help

Leave a Reply

