Using Sunlight to Aid in Metal Forging?

Using Sunlight to Aid in Metal Forging?

I've watched Grant Thompson for a while on YouTube (loved his older videos), and one thing he's done which I'm really interested in is his "solar scorcher" which is really just taking a giant fresnel lens from a projection TV and hooking it up to a frame. He's able to get temperatures of over 2000 degrees Fahrenheit by using it as a magnifying glass.

Recently, he revisited his project and tried to melt metal. While he was able to successfully use the lens to melt an ingot of Pewter, he failed against aluminum and brass. He did show that the metal was incredibly hot.

"Solar Scorcher": https://youtu.be/XFw7U7V1Hok

Melting Metal: https://youtu.be/8IdjbdLdXYo

My question is this: Would I save a substantial amount of fuel from a forge setup by using the fresnel lens before I turn on the gas?

I'm interested in forging Metal, but I'd definitely like the hobby to be as cheap as possible when I get into it. I imagine the majority of fuel is used heating up the metal, so my theory is that using the lens would save me a lot of fuel.

What do you think?

Thanks,

-Kyle

Submitted July 15, 2017 at 10:59PM by Beloxy
via reddit http://ift.tt/2tf1AFV

Using Sunlight to Aid in Metal Forging?

Leave a Reply

