How much ‘clamping’ force can a screw create in wood?

How much ‘clamping’ force can a screw create in wood?

I want to clamp a piece of aluminum between 2 pieces of wood (maybe 2x6s or 2x8s). I would then screw or bolt these pieces of wood together (but not through the aluminum). Once I know the clamping force, I can simulate this item in SolidWorks, and it will take the coefficient of friction into account when it gives me the amount of force required to pull the aluminum out from between the wood.

My initial calculations show that I will need somewhere in the neighborhood of 2-4,000lbs of inward force. Can I accomplish that with a dozen beefy wood screws? Or do I need to step up to bolts?

Submitted July 17, 2017 at 03:31PM by MagiicHat
via reddit http://ift.tt/2vb5X1V

How much ‘clamping’ force can a screw create in wood?

Leave a Reply

