New(ish) engineer, already getting tired and burnt out. I feel like i made a huge mistake.

New(ish) engineer, already getting tired and burnt out. I feel like i made a huge mistake.

It's as the title says. I am 2 and a bit years into my career with a degree in civil engineering and have been working in construction as a field engineer/quality control/estimating and I am feeling burnt out and unrewarded in this career path. It's nothing like what I imagined I'd be doing after getting this degree.

The hours are long (12+ hrs a day, 5…days..wait its 6. memo just came out, Saturday is now mandatory. This project is 4 years long..FML), the locations are everywhere: I've been on international assignments, remote locations, random offices, and only just recent got back to my home town.. though i can't barely live a life here anyways given the hours (At least the roads are familiar). With all these hours, I'm almost certainly making less than the intern is too…

On top of all that, everyday I feel like I'm getting stupider and maybe that's my fault for not keeping up? but it seems like I know less and less about actual engineering, because all I've done is menial shit I never needed this degree for to begin with like measuring rebar spacing, clear cover on concrete, making basic spreadsheets, measuring rocks (seriously QCing riprap is a boring job), ordering wood for formwork, and a plethora of very non-engineery things.

Honestly, I think I made a mistake taking this job (and perhaps this degree, but its too late now for that one). I feel like I am getting pigeon holed into this shit industry with the most toxic work/life balance worse than I could have ever imagined. I want to get out. I need to get out, but I can't just up and leave, still got bills to pay. What happened to regular jobs with regular hours? I would murder cute animals to get me a 9 to 5.

I'm taking an AutoCAD course in hopes that will help me bridge a gap to get closer to the design world and out of the direct line of fire of construction, but I don't even know if that's really enough to get me a job doing that when I probably couldn't do any real analysis without a metric shit ton of guidance. And who knows, the hours there might not be any better than what I got (but please tell me I'm wrong).

I don't know what my end point of this post is, I'm feeling rather bitter and disgruntled, and i needed to rant. I'm losing my mind here.

Submitted July 17, 2017 at 06:03PM by D912
via reddit http://ift.tt/2usYMV7

New(ish) engineer, already getting tired and burnt out. I feel like i made a huge mistake.

Leave a Reply

