Just got a strange contract offer – how do i calculate my rate? what tools should I use?

Just got a strange contract offer – how do i calculate my rate? what tools should I use?

A marketing agency needs 50 prototypes of a mockup electronic automatic beverage pourer. My job would be to design how it triggers the pouring action, how to attach the electronics to the glass, and design the aesthetics.

I'm fairly confident I can do this, but I've never done something like this before, especially with contract work. My current salary is 82,000 which means I made about $40 an hour, 40 hours a week. Should I use $60/hour as a rate since i'd be working weekends/nights? Do I charge even more? Or should I just do a sort of 'milestone' payout where I say '50% is $5000'. This project will take roughly 2-3 months. How much do you guys think I should charge?

Submitted July 24, 2017 at 02:19PM by AltPerspective
via reddit http://ift.tt/2tvqFs7

Just got a strange contract offer – how do i calculate my rate? what tools should I use?

Leave a Reply

