Pregraduation Engineering Experience Without PEng Supervisor (Canada, PEO)

Pregraduation Engineering Experience Without PEng Supervisor (Canada, PEO)

I'm a mature student (previous BSc. in physics) that has completed 50% of my studies at a CEAB accredited engineering program in Ontario, Canada. Currently, I work for a medical device startup company as a hardware designer (circuit and PCB design/production) and I am becoming interested in submitting work experience (as of May 2017) towards obtaining a PEng license in the future. My supervisor, the CEO, is not a professional engineer by any means though. (He has a PhD in medical physics for what its worth). In fact, no one in the company (4 employees) is an "engineer".

This pdf document HERE provided by PEO states that a supervisor who does not hold a PEng is not mandatory but I am still curious to know how true this information really holds up. Most of my peers have commented that it's typically necessary to be in an engineering firm to gain acceptable experience.

Can anyone provide there experiences with submitting experience where they did not work under a PEng, or perhaps give me some advice with my situation? I am still learning about how this whole process works so maybe I am missing some crucial bits. Thank you.

As a side question: what are your opinions about obtaining a PEng if one wished to pursue a career related to engineering medical devices? Is it necessary?

Submitted July 25, 2017 at 09:31AM by macko656
via reddit http://ift.tt/2uUegSm

Pregraduation Engineering Experience Without PEng Supervisor (Canada, PEO)

Leave a Reply

