Need help to classify this beam loading for selecting bearings and designing a support

Need help to classify this beam loading for selecting bearings and designing a support

Hi All:

I need help from you guys to know if I am going on the right path and some suggestions on how to go about. I am designing a support, which would hold a rail at the center. The rails would be free to rotate about the support with human effort only. Meaning, the support will have bearings that make the rotation possible.

Here are two images with hand drawn FBDs and some decription

I need to design a support which would be attached to the center of the rails. The cross section of the rails are almost a reverse C shape (cross section shown in the image).

I think the loading on the beam can be considered Cantilever beam, taking into account only the half length of the rails. This, ofcourse, is only for the ease of calculation. The rails won't bend, as 1) I plan to have extendable arms on the support which will help to avoid the bending and 2) The rail is actually a rail system with static support plates, so its not going to fail at loading.

I found out the Moment to be 450 ft-lbs (Load of 150 lbs at 3ft distance). I need to resolve this into components to find the axial and radial loads. I plan on getting one bearing to handle the axial load and the other to handle the radial load. This is just so that I don't have to get expensive bearings that handle both. Further, I would like to know if I need to space my bearings and if so, how do I go calculate that.

I would be really grateful, if someone can walk me through selecting the bearings. I am having a hard time with this.

If my description is not clear enough, please feel free to leave questions in the comments and I will clarify them.

Thank you!

Submitted July 27, 2017 at 02:06PM by LordofMud
via reddit http://ift.tt/2vbIQHP

Need help to classify this beam loading for selecting bearings and designing a support

Leave a Reply

