How to calculate wind resistance of a water wall?

How to calculate wind resistance of a water wall?

Hoping an ME or a Fluids engineer will chime in here. I'm an EE but for part of a project I'm working on I need to build a water feature that has a continuous wall of water. Something like this but from a free standing frame instead of with that solid wall behind it.. The project is outside, and I need to be able to calculate the 'failure point' where the wall of water will begin to lose continuity when subjected to a breeze perpendicular to the face. The ultimate goal is to be able to determine something like "If you want unbrokencontinuity for 3 vertical feet up to 20mph winds we must pump XX gallons/min/horizontal inch."

Ideally someone could point me to a calculator or something like that but even just the right verbiage to help guide my googling would be helpful. I'm having a hard time finding info on google because I don't know how to ask what I need.

Submitted July 30, 2017 at 12:48PM by Jewnadian
via reddit http://ift.tt/2vVdZMT

How to calculate wind resistance of a water wall?

Leave a Reply

