How to Analyze Failure for design of a New Part

How to Analyze Failure for design of a New Part

Sorry, this may be a really basic question.

I graduated with a Biomed engineering degree about 5 years ago. I have taken some mechanical engineering classes, but it was all theory. Not grounded in any practical application.

I've been working away from my field of study since graduation, so I've forgotten almost everything. I feel like I'm a bit of a lost cause as an engineer at this point.

Nevertheless, I've recently started working with a new engineer at my workplace and am looking to design some simple components for a machine.

I have an idea for how I want to construct the part – I know the weight load, etc. I have a design in ProE.

But now I'm not sure where to go from here. There is a local machine shop I can take my design to and I'm sure they will be able to make it and verify it won't break. But as an engineer I would like to at least validate that the part won't bend / break.

So it might be a really fundamental question, but now that I have the general idea for the design, how do I model the part mechanically under a static load to verify it won't bend or break? I've never really analyzed these types of problems for a 3 dimensional part.

Thank you and sorry if this seems like a stupid question for an engineer. It's a little alarming how much can be forgotten when it isn't used in a relatively short period of time…though I'm not sure if you can classify 5 years as a short time period. I don't even know where to begin in re-learning the things I have forgotten.

Submitted August 01, 2017 at 08:26AM by StrawHatJedi
via reddit http://ift.tt/2whCovl

How to Analyze Failure for design of a New Part

Leave a Reply

