Steam powered Kayak

Steam powered Kayak

So I have some crude plans to run a normal 10 ft kayak with a small steam engine. My trouble is what engine to use. I intend to use one of the Stuart Models, either the D10 or the Twin launch, but there's a catch: I'm unsure of the power output of these engines, I just know displacement, pressure, RPM, etc. I know the Twin Launch is enough, but it's also like $400 while the D10 is only about $200, so if the D10 can work, then that's what I'd like to do.

So does anyone have a good way to estimate the power generated by these steam engines based on what I do know?

Specs: D10: 3/4" bore and stroke, two cylinder, 100 psi, max 2000 rpm.

Twin Launch: 1" bore, 7/8" stroke, two cylinder, 100 psi, not sure on RPM but probably about 1000.

Submitted August 12, 2017 at 12:12AM by BestFleetAdmiral
via reddit http://ift.tt/2fA7T0M

Steam powered Kayak

Leave a Reply

